This Page is intended for REFERENCE ONLY. This page is not to be used as legal advice, nor does it constitute any consultation, opinion, or representation by Beckett Law Group. Do not rely on this page for guaranteed accuracy, as it is not updated regularly.
The New Jersey Criminal Code of Justice
This page's content cites JUSTIA for N.J.S.A. Criminal Code, and is intended for educational and reference purposes only. This list is only partial, and does not contain each regulation within N.J.S.A. code.
Possible Punishment for Felony Crimes
Under New Jersey law, the judge in a criminal case determines an appropriate sentence for each indictable crime according to a range of terms of imprisonment listed in New Jersey’s sentencing statute for each degree of offense.
First degree crimes
The court can impose a basic prison sentence between 10 and 20 years or between 20, 25 or 30 years and life for certain crimes, such as murder. The court can also fine the person convicted of a first degree crime up to $200,000.
Second degree crimes
For a second degree felony, the court can impose a prison sentence between 5 and 10 years and a fine up to $150,000.
Third degree crimes
A court can sentence a defendant convicted of a third degree crime to a prison sentence between 3 and 5 years and a fine up to $15,000.
Fourth degree crimes
A defendant convicted of a fourth degree crime faces up to eighteen months in prison and a fine up to $10,000.
Sentencing discretion and requirements
New Jersey law provides an ordinary term for each degree of indictable crimes such as the 3 – 5 year sentence for third degree offenses described above. The New Jersey sentencing statutes also require the courts to impose extended terms in certain cases, such as 20 years to life in prison for murder. Courts also are required to sentence offenders to a minimum of a certain term in prison for certain crimes or in certain circumstances. The judge in each case also often has the option to allow the defendant to serve all or a portion of a sentence on probation rather than in prison.
Pennsylvania Misdemeanor and Felony Charges
This page's content cites Pennsylvania Criminal Code, and is intended for educational and reference purposes only. This list is only partial, and does not contain each regulation within the Pennsylvania Criminal Code.
Under Pennsylvania Criminal Laws, crimes and penalties are categorized as either Felonies or Misdemeanors, with 3 subclasses of each. Felonies are broken into Felony 1 (F1), Felony 2 (F2), Felony 3 (F3), and likewise, Misdemeanor 1 (M1), Misdemeanor 2 (M2), and Misdemeanor 3 (M3), and there is also a category of Summary Offenses.
There are also unclassified/ungraded felonies, and unclassified/ungraded misdemeanors (such as 1st offense DUI charges). Some crimes have penalties that vary from strict adherence to these classifications, so please call for a consultation to discuss exactly what you may be facing in the worse case, and what is the realistic most likely outcome.
The maximum sentences for each crime category under Pennsylvania Criminal Laws are as follows:
CategoryPenaltySome Example Charges
Felony 1Up to 20 Years in PrisonAggravated Assault w/a Deadly Weapon, Drug Distribution or Trafficking
Felony 2Up to 10 Years in PrisonBurglary, Sexual Assault, Arson
Felony 3Up to 7 Years in PrisonDrug Offenses, Firearms, Major Theft
Misdemeanor 1Up to 5 Years in PrisonSimple Assault, Terroristic Threats, DUI (multiple offense)
Misdemeanor 2Up to 2 Years in PrisonRetail Theft/Shoplifting, Fraud/Bad Checks
Misdemeanor 3Up to 1 Year in PrisonMarijuana Possession, Petty Thefts
Summary OffenseUp to 90 days in JailDisorderly Conduct, many Traffic Offenses